Show Summary Details
Page of



Priya Sampathkumar

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD MEDICINE ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Medicine Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 09 December 2021

There are 2 basic types of pneumonia: community-acquired pneumonia and nosocomial pneumonia. Community-acquired pneumonia is an acute infection of the pulmonary parenchyma acquired while the patient was in the community rather than in a hospital. Older or immunosuppressed patients with CAP may present with nonrespiratory symptoms: confusion, failure to thrive, worsening of an underlying chronic illness, or falls. Nosocomial pneumonia: pneumonia that develops more than 48 hours after admission to a health care facility and which was not incubating at the time of admission. Prevention, diagnosis, and treatment are also reviewed.

Access to the complete content on Oxford Medicine Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.