Show Summary Details
Page of

DSM-5 and Disability Evaluations 

DSM-5 and Disability Evaluations
DSM-5 and Disability Evaluations

Charles Scott

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD MEDICINE ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Medicine Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 07 May 2021

Mental health providers are often asked to evaluate a person’s disability, either in their role as a treatment provider or as a forensic evaluator. The definition of “disability” varies depending on the circumstances and context of the evaluation. Despite the range of disability definitions, they generally have one factor in common: a reliance and emphasis on using the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM). This chapter focuses on the relationship of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) to three common types of disability evaluations: workers’ compensation claims; Americans with Disability Act (ADA) claims, and Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) evaluations. The appropriate use of disability assessment instruments, such as the Global of Assessment of Functioning (GAF) scale and the World Health Organization Disability Assessment Schedule 2.0 (WHODAS 2.0), is also reviewed.

Access to the complete content on Oxford Medicine Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.