Show Summary Details
Page of

Palliative care in the UK 

Palliative care in the UK
Palliative care in the UK

Nancy Preston

and Katherine Froggatt

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD MEDICINE ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Medicine Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 04 December 2021

As the delivery of healthcare has been devolved down to the four countries—England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland—there are therefore differences in budgets, priorities, and regulatory processes that shape how palliative care is delivered. Each of the nations in the United Kingdom has developed its own palliative care strategy that reflects these differences, and they commonly promote the use of the three tools and approaches: an integrated care pathway, the Gold Standards framework, and advance care planning.

Access to the complete content on Oxford Medicine Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.