Show Summary Details
Page of

Flaviviruses excluding dengue 

Flaviviruses excluding dengue
Flaviviruses excluding dengue

Shannan Lee Rossi

, and Nikos Vasilakis

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD MEDICINE ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Medicine Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 07 March 2021

The family Flaviviridae currently consists of four recognized genera: Flavivirus, Pestivirus, Hepacivirus, and Pegivirus. Although members of the family have a large host range that includes both vertebrates and invertebrates, only members of the genus Flavivirus are known as arboviruses, vectored either by mosquitoes or ticks. The remaining genera in the family are exclusively found in mammals, and their diversity has greatly expanded with recent virus discoveries. The genus Flavivirus comprises 92 virus species, of which over 40 can cause human infection. Many of these include important human pathogens such as Zika, dengue, yellow fever, West Nile, and Japanese encephalitis virus.

Access to the complete content on Oxford Medicine Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.