Show Summary Details
Page of

Epileptic myoclonus 

Epileptic myoclonus
Epileptic myoclonus

Ivan Donaldson

, C. David Marsden

, Susanne A. Schneider

, and Kailash P. Bhatia

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD MEDICINE ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Medicine Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 22 January 2022

‘All forms of myoclonus, whether massive or bilaterally symmetrical, segmental, or fragmentary, can occur with almost every type of epilepsy’ (Aicardi 1986). Two major categories of epileptic myoclonus can be distinguished. First, there is cortical myoclonus producing epilepsia partialis continua, Jacksonian partial seizures, secondary generalized tonic-clonic seizures, multifocal cortical myoclonus, or generalized cortical myoclonus. All these types of epilepsy are due to focal cerebral cortical discharge with secondary generalization. Second, there is generalized myoclonus in the primary generalized epilepsies, which we call epileptic myoclonus.

Access to the complete content on Oxford Medicine Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.