Show Summary Details
Page of

National Consensus Project for Quality Palliative Care 

National Consensus Project for Quality Palliative Care
National Consensus Project for Quality Palliative Care

Constance Dahlin

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD MEDICINE ONLINE ( © Oxford University Press, 2016. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Medicine Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 22 October 2019

The field of palliative care is evolving rapidly as the health care system responds to a burdened economy and aging society. Palliative care provides an opportunity to meet the needs of seriously ill patients and those at the end of life. This chapter reviews the work of the National Consensus Project for Quality Palliative Care, which has established clinical practice guidelines for the field. Eight domains of care include Structure and Processes of Care; Physical Aspects of Care; Psychological and Psychiatric Aspects of Care; Social Aspects of Care; Spiritual, Religious, and Existential Aspects of Care; Cultural Aspects of Care; Care of the Patient at the End of Life; and Ethical and Legal Aspects of Care. Nurses play a vital role across each of the domains, developing and sustaining structures and processes of care to ensure quality palliative care that extends across patient groups, across diseases, and across settings of care.

Access to the complete content on Oxford Medicine Online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.