Page of

DSM-5 Diagnostic Criteria for PTSD 

DSM-5 Diagnostic Criteria for PTSD
DSM-5 Diagnostic Criteria for PTSD
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

Frank W. Weathers


The diagnostic criteria for posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) have evolved substantially since the disorder was introduced in DSM-III. The latest revision for DSM-5 involved several notable changes, including moving PTSD to a new chapter of trauma- and stressor-related disorders, reconceptualizing the stressor criterion, expanding from three to four symptom clusters, adding three new symptoms and revising others, adding a dissociative subtype, and creating separate criteria for children six years and younger. This chapter traces the evolution of the PTSD criteria and describes the DSM-5 criteria in detail. Since PTSD has been a controversial diagnosis since its inception, this chapter also provides an overview of the conceptual issues and empirical findings that influenced its development over time and motivated its current iteration.

Sign In

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved.